Ann Hennis

Ann Hennis


In addition to her active legal practice in the firm’s Corpus Christi office, Ann currently oversees the office’s administrative and personnel matters and is a member of the firm’s Ethics Committee.

During her career, she has successfully represented, on both the plaintiff and defense sides, numerous individual and corporate clients in lead and local counsel capacities. She has extensive experience representing a broad spectrum of industries, including trucking, insurance, security and pharmaceutical companies among others, and she has defended various types of litigation in state and federal courts, such as motor vehicle accidents, refinery explosions, construction defects, oil field accidents, tortious interference with business relations, contaminated food and equipment failures.

In 2011, Ms. Hennis was included in the inaugural edition of The Bar Register of Preeminent Women Lawyers. This is the highest female attorney rating available from Martindale Hubbell for both legal ability and ethical standards reflecting the confidential opinions of members of the Bar and Judiciary. She has also attained a “Superb” peer review rating from AVVO.

Telephone: 361.866.8007
Fax: 361.866.8039
800 N. Shoreline Blvd
Suite 2000, North Tower
Corpus Christi, Texas 78401

Curriculum Vitae

  • Education
    South Texas College of Law Houston, J.D. 1985
    Corpus Christi State University, now Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, B.S. 1981
    Del Mar College, A.A.S. 1977
  • Bar & Court Admissions
    U.S. Supreme Court
    U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas
    U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Texas
    U.S. District Court for the Western District of Texas
    U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Texas
  • Honors & Awards
    Listed in The Best Lawyers in America® by Woodward/White, Inc. (Personal Injury Litigation - Defense), 2018-2019
    • CCBA's Cecil E. Burney Humanitarian Award – Nueces County attorney recognized as most actively devoted to humanitarian causes
    Texas Super Lawyers® by Thompson Reuters (Civil Litigation Defense), 2016 - 2018
    • YWCA "Y Women in Careers" Award, 2008
    Who's Who Legal: Texas by Law Business Research Limited, 2011
    • Rated AV Preeminent by Martindale-Hubbell
  • Professional Affiliations & Activities
    • State Bar of Texas, Past Committee Chair
    • Texas Bar Foundation - Sustaining Life Fellow, Fellows Nominating Chair, District 11, 2007-2008
    • Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee, appointed by the Texas Supreme Court - District 11 Chair, 1995-2011; State Committee member, 2012-present
    • American Board of Trial Advocates - President, TEX-ABOTA, 2017
    • American Board of Trial Advocates - President, Corpus Christi Chapter, 2013
    • American Board of Trial Advocates - National Board Representative, Corpus Christi Chapter, 2015-2018
    • ABOTA Foundation, Senior Life Fellow
    • American Bar Association
    • American Bar Foundation, Fellow
    • Litigation Counsel of America - The Trial Lawyer Honorary Society, Senior Fellow
    • Corpus Christi Bar Association
    • San Antonio Bar Association
    • Coastal Bend Women Lawyers Assn. - Founding Member, Past Board Member, 2012
    • United Way of the Coastal Blend - Board of Governors (2002 - 2017), Secretary (2016, 2017), Campaign Chair (2006), Community Investment (2016, 2017)
    • Nueces County Administration of Justice Committee - 2005-2010
    • Texas Center for Legal Ethics and Professionalism
    • Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity - Past President, Sam Houston Chapter, South Texas College of Law
    • Texas Association of Defense Counsel
    • Defense Research Institute

Committed to the Community

Ann and her husband, Mark Carlson, MD, actively service the community through various organizations. Ann has held leadership positions within several of these organizations, such as the United Way of the Coastal Bend and the Women’s Shelter of South Texas. Ann is a seasoned sailor, Past Commodore of the Corpus Christi Yacht Club, and the recipient of the 2012 Yachtsman of the Year Award.